[PATCH for-4.16 v2] CHANGELOG: add missing entries for work during the 4.16 release cycle

Roger Pau Monne posted 1 patch 1 week, 6 days ago
Test gitlab-ci passed
Patches applied successfully (tree, apply log)
git fetch https://gitlab.com/xen-project/patchew/xen tags/patchew/20211122104005.58897-1-roger.pau@citrix.com
CHANGELOG.md | 26 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++
1 file changed, 26 insertions(+)

[PATCH for-4.16 v2] CHANGELOG: add missing entries for work during the 4.16 release cycle

Posted by Roger Pau Monne 1 week, 6 days ago
Document some of the relevant changes during the 4.16 release cycle.

Signed-off-by: Roger Pau Monné <roger.pau@citrix.com>
Release-Acked-by: Ian Jackson <iwj@xenproject.org>
---
Changes since v1:
 - Add qemu-traditional and pvgrub notes.
 - Expand vPMU support to note it's limited.
 - xenstore library API changes.
 - xencall2L addition.
 - gitlab CI changes.
 - dom0less improvements.
 - vGIC fixes.
 - New Arm features.
 - OP-TEE fixes.
 - Arm64 heterogeneous CPU support.
---
Cc: Alistair Francis <alistair.francis@wdc.com>
Cc: Andrew Cooper <andrew.cooper3@citrix.com>
Cc: Anthony PERARD <anthony.perard@citrix.com>
Cc: Anthony Perard <anthony.perard@citrix.com>
Cc: Bertrand Marquis <bertrand.marquis@arm.com>
Cc: Bob Eshleman <bobbyeshleman@gmail.com>
Cc: Christian Lindig <christian.lindig@citrix.com>
Cc: Christopher Clark <christopher.w.clark@gmail.com>
Cc: Daniel De Graaf <dgdegra@tycho.nsa.gov>
Cc: Dario Faggioli <dfaggioli@suse.com>
Cc: David Scott <dave@recoil.org>
Cc: Doug Goldstein <cardoe@cardoe.com>
Cc: Elena Ufimtseva <elena.ufimtseva@oracle.com>
Cc: George Dunlap <george.dunlap@citrix.com>
Cc: Ian Jackson <iwj@xenproject.org>
Cc: Jan Beulich <jbeulich@suse.com>
Cc: Josh Whitehead <josh.whitehead@dornerworks.com>
Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
Cc: Julien Grall <julien@xen.org>
Cc: Jun Nakajima <jun.nakajima@intel.com>
Cc: Kevin Tian <kevin.tian@intel.com>
Cc: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
Cc: Marek Marczykowski-Górecki <marmarek@invisiblethingslab.com>
Cc: Meng Xu <mengxu@cis.upenn.edu>
Cc: Nick Rosbrook <rosbrookn@ainfosec.com>
Cc: Paul Durrant <paul@xen.org>
Cc: Quan Xu <quan.xu0@gmail.com>
Cc: Rahul Singh <rahul.singh@arm.com>
Cc: Roger Pau Monné <roger.pau@citrix.com>
Cc: Ross Lagerwall <ross.lagerwall@citrix.com>
Cc: Samuel Thibault <samuel.thibault@ens-lyon.org>
Cc: Shriram Rajagopalan <rshriram@cs.ubc.ca>
Cc: Stefano Stabellini <sstabellini@kernel.org>
Cc: Stewart Hildebrand <stewart.hildebrand@dornerworks.com>
Cc: Tamas K Lengyel <tamas@tklengyel.com>
Cc: Tim Deegan <tim@xen.org>
Cc: Volodymyr Babchuk <volodymyr_babchuk@epam.com>
Cc: Wei Liu <wl@xen.org>
---
 CHANGELOG.md | 26 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 1 file changed, 26 insertions(+)

diff --git a/CHANGELOG.md b/CHANGELOG.md
index ad1a8c2bc2..4652ced650 100644
--- a/CHANGELOG.md
+++ b/CHANGELOG.md
@@ -21,6 +21,32 @@ The format is based on [Keep a Changelog](https://keepachangelog.com/en/1.0.0/)
  - qemu-traditional based device models (both, qemu-traditional and ioemu-stubdom) will
    no longer be built per default. In order to be able to use those, configure needs to
    be called with "--enable-qemu-traditional" as parameter.
+ - Fixes for credit2 scheduler stability in corner case conditions.
+ - Ongoing improvements in the hypervisor build system.
+ - vtpmmgr miscellaneous fixes in preparation for TPM 2.0 support.
+ - 32bit PV guests only supported in shim mode.
+ - Improved PVH dom0 debug key handling.
+ - Fix booting on some Intel systems without a PIT (i8254).
+ - Do not build qemu-traditional or pvgrub by default.
+ - Cleanup of the xenstore library interface.
+ - Fix truncation of return value from xencall2 by introducing a new helper
+   that returns a long instead.
+ - Fix system register accesses on Arm to use the proper 32/64bit access size.
+ - Various fixes for Arm OP-TEE mediator.
+
+### Added
+ - 32bit Arm builds to the gitlab-ci automated tests.
+ - x86 full system tests to the gitlab-ci automated tests.
+ - New x86 pagetable APIs.
+ - Arm limited vPMU support for guests.
+ - Static physical memory allocation for dom0less on arm64.
+ - dom0less EFI support on arm64.
+ - GICD_ICPENDR register handling in vGIC emulation to support Zephyr OS.
+ - CPU feature leveling on arm64 platform with heterogeneous cores.
+ - Report unpopulated memory regions safe to use for external mappings, Arm and
+   device tree only.
+ - Support of generic DT IOMMU bindings for Arm SMMU v2.
+ - Limit grant table version on a per-domain basis.
 
 ## [4.15.0](https://xenbits.xen.org/gitweb/?p=xen.git;a=shortlog;h=RELEASE-4.15.0) - 2021-04-08
 
-- 
2.33.0


Re: [PATCH for-4.16 v2] CHANGELOG: add missing entries for work during the 4.16 release cycle

Posted by Jan Beulich 1 week, 6 days ago
(reducing Cc list)

On 22.11.2021 11:40, Roger Pau Monne wrote:
> --- a/CHANGELOG.md
> +++ b/CHANGELOG.md
> @@ -21,6 +21,32 @@ The format is based on [Keep a Changelog](https://keepachangelog.com/en/1.0.0/)
>   - qemu-traditional based device models (both, qemu-traditional and ioemu-stubdom) will
>     no longer be built per default. In order to be able to use those, configure needs to
>     be called with "--enable-qemu-traditional" as parameter.
> + - Fixes for credit2 scheduler stability in corner case conditions.
> + - Ongoing improvements in the hypervisor build system.
> + - vtpmmgr miscellaneous fixes in preparation for TPM 2.0 support.
> + - 32bit PV guests only supported in shim mode.
> + - Improved PVH dom0 debug key handling.
> + - Fix booting on some Intel systems without a PIT (i8254).
> + - Do not build qemu-traditional or pvgrub by default.
> + - Cleanup of the xenstore library interface.
> + - Fix truncation of return value from xencall2 by introducing a new helper
> +   that returns a long instead.

This has been backported, so it's not really new in that sense, I would say.
I don't necessarily mean to request removal from this list, but some indication
as to its availability in 4.15.1 may be helpful.

Then again I realize this also would apply to a few other items; this one is
just where the aspect first occurred to me.

> + - Fix system register accesses on Arm to use the proper 32/64bit access size.
> + - Various fixes for Arm OP-TEE mediator.
> +
> +### Added
> + - 32bit Arm builds to the gitlab-ci automated tests.
> + - x86 full system tests to the gitlab-ci automated tests.
> + - New x86 pagetable APIs.

May I ask what this is about?

Jan


Re: [PATCH for-4.16 v2] CHANGELOG: add missing entries for work during the 4.16 release cycle

Posted by Roger Pau Monné 1 week, 6 days ago
On Mon, Nov 22, 2021 at 11:51:59AM +0100, Jan Beulich wrote:
> (reducing Cc list)
> 
> On 22.11.2021 11:40, Roger Pau Monne wrote:
> > --- a/CHANGELOG.md
> > +++ b/CHANGELOG.md
> > @@ -21,6 +21,32 @@ The format is based on [Keep a Changelog](https://keepachangelog.com/en/1.0.0/)
> >   - qemu-traditional based device models (both, qemu-traditional and ioemu-stubdom) will
> >     no longer be built per default. In order to be able to use those, configure needs to
> >     be called with "--enable-qemu-traditional" as parameter.
> > + - Fixes for credit2 scheduler stability in corner case conditions.
> > + - Ongoing improvements in the hypervisor build system.
> > + - vtpmmgr miscellaneous fixes in preparation for TPM 2.0 support.
> > + - 32bit PV guests only supported in shim mode.
> > + - Improved PVH dom0 debug key handling.
> > + - Fix booting on some Intel systems without a PIT (i8254).
> > + - Do not build qemu-traditional or pvgrub by default.
> > + - Cleanup of the xenstore library interface.
> > + - Fix truncation of return value from xencall2 by introducing a new helper
> > +   that returns a long instead.
> 
> This has been backported, so it's not really new in that sense, I would say.
> I don't necessarily mean to request removal from this list, but some indication
> as to its availability in 4.15.1 may be helpful.
> 
> Then again I realize this also would apply to a few other items; this one is
> just where the aspect first occurred to me.

I'm not sure how we could properly track backports, short of adding a
separate section for each minor version.

> > + - Fix system register accesses on Arm to use the proper 32/64bit access size.
> > + - Various fixes for Arm OP-TEE mediator.
> > +
> > +### Added
> > + - 32bit Arm builds to the gitlab-ci automated tests.
> > + - x86 full system tests to the gitlab-ci automated tests.
> > + - New x86 pagetable APIs.
> 
> May I ask what this is about?

It's related to:

https://lore.kernel.org/xen-devel/cover.1619014052.git.hongyxia@amazon.com/

But I realize I should have added "Switch to domheap for Xen page
tables" instead likely. Some patches in the series had "switch to new
APIs" and that made me write that entry.

Thanks, Roger.

Re: [PATCH for-4.16 v2] CHANGELOG: add missing entries for work during the 4.16 release cycle

Posted by Jan Beulich 1 week, 6 days ago
On 22.11.2021 12:00, Roger Pau Monné wrote:
> On Mon, Nov 22, 2021 at 11:51:59AM +0100, Jan Beulich wrote:
>> On 22.11.2021 11:40, Roger Pau Monne wrote:
>>> +### Added
>>> + - 32bit Arm builds to the gitlab-ci automated tests.
>>> + - x86 full system tests to the gitlab-ci automated tests.
>>> + - New x86 pagetable APIs.
>>
>> May I ask what this is about?
> 
> It's related to:
> 
> https://lore.kernel.org/xen-devel/cover.1619014052.git.hongyxia@amazon.com/
> 
> But I realize I should have added "Switch to domheap for Xen page
> tables" instead likely. Some patches in the series had "switch to new
> APIs" and that made me write that entry.

Oh, that's very much an implementation detail. But yes, if you want it
mentioned ...

Jan