[PATCH v4 0/4] efi: Unified Xen hypervisor/kernel/initrd images

Trammell Hudson posted 4 patches 4 days ago
Patches applied successfully (tree, apply log)
git fetch https://github.com/patchew-project/xen tags/patchew/20200914115013.814079-1-hudson@trmm.net
Maintainers: Volodymyr Babchuk <Volodymyr_Babchuk@epam.com>, "Roger Pau Monné" <roger.pau@citrix.com>, Julien Grall <julien@xen.org>, Jan Beulich <jbeulich@suse.com>, Stefano Stabellini <sstabellini@kernel.org>, Andrew Cooper <andrew.cooper3@citrix.com>, George Dunlap <george.dunlap@citrix.com>, Ian Jackson <iwj@xenproject.org>, Wei Liu <wl@xen.org>
.gitignore                  |   1 +
docs/misc/efi.pandoc        |  49 ++++++++++++
xen/arch/arm/efi/efi-boot.h |  25 ++++--
xen/arch/x86/efi/Makefile   |   2 +-
xen/arch/x86/efi/efi-boot.h |  11 ++-
xen/common/efi/boot.c       | 154 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++--------
xen/common/efi/efi.h        |   3 +
xen/common/efi/pe.c         | 137 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
8 files changed, 336 insertions(+), 46 deletions(-)
create mode 100644 xen/common/efi/pe.c

[PATCH v4 0/4] efi: Unified Xen hypervisor/kernel/initrd images

Posted by Trammell Hudson 4 days ago
This patch series adds support for bundling the xen.efi hypervisor,
the xen.cfg configuration file, the Linux kernel and initrd, as well
as the XSM, and architectural specific files into a single "unified"
EFI executable.  This allows an administrator to update the components
independently without requiring rebuilding xen, as well as to replace
the components in an existing image.

The resulting EFI executable can be invoked directly from the UEFI Boot
Manager, removing the need to use a separate loader like grub as well
as removing dependencies on local filesystem access.  And since it is
a single file, it can be signed and validated by UEFI Secure Boot without
requring the shim protocol.

It is inspired by systemd-boot's unified kernel technique and borrows the
function to locate PE sections from systemd's LGPL'ed code.  During EFI
boot, Xen looks at its own loaded image to locate the PE sections for
the Xen configuration (`.config`), dom0 kernel (`.kernel`), dom0 initrd
(`.ramdisk`), and XSM config (`.xsm`), which are included after building
xen.efi using objcopy to add named sections for each input file.

Trammell Hudson (4):
  efi/boot.c: add file.need_to_free
  efi/boot.c: add handle_file_info()
  efi: Enable booting unified hypervisor/kernel/initrd images
  efi: Do not use command line if secure boot is enabled.

 .gitignore                  |   1 +
 docs/misc/efi.pandoc        |  49 ++++++++++++
 xen/arch/arm/efi/efi-boot.h |  25 ++++--
 xen/arch/x86/efi/Makefile   |   2 +-
 xen/arch/x86/efi/efi-boot.h |  11 ++-
 xen/common/efi/boot.c       | 154 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++--------
 xen/common/efi/efi.h        |   3 +
 xen/common/efi/pe.c         | 137 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 8 files changed, 336 insertions(+), 46 deletions(-)
 create mode 100644 xen/common/efi/pe.c

-- 
2.25.1