[edk2-devel] [Patch v2 0/4] Remove fixed CPU architecture list assumptions

Michael D Kinney posted 4 patches 1 month ago
Failed in applying to current master (apply log)
BaseTools/Source/C/GenFw/Elf32Convert.c          |  5 ++---
BaseTools/Source/C/GenFw/Elf64Convert.c          |  5 ++---
BaseTools/Source/Python/GenFds/FdfParser.py      |  4 +---
BaseTools/Source/Python/TargetTool/TargetTool.py |  4 ++--
BaseTools/Source/Python/build/buildoptions.py    |  4 ++--
CryptoPkg/Library/Include/CrtLibSupport.h        |  4 +++-
MdePkg/Include/Uefi/UefiBaseType.h               | 15 ++++++++++++++-
MdePkg/Include/Uefi/UefiSpec.h                   |  4 +++-
8 files changed, 29 insertions(+), 16 deletions(-)

[edk2-devel] [Patch v2 0/4] Remove fixed CPU architecture list assumptions

Posted by Michael D Kinney 1 month ago
REF: https://bugzilla.tianocore.org/show_bug.cgi?id=3308

New in V2
=========
* Support all combinations of EFI_IMAGE_MACHINE_TYPE_SUPPORTED and
  EFI_IMAGE_MACHINE_CROSS_TYPE_SUPPORTED.  Also update the way these
  macros are supported that is compatible with all toolchains by introducing
  two new optional #defines called EFI_IMAGE_MACHINE_TYPE_VALUE and
  EFI_IMAGE_MACHINE_CROSS_TYPE_VALUE
* Missing copyright update in CryptoPkg
* Split BaseTools patch into 2 patches.  One for C code and one for Python.

The EDK II Build Specifications do not restrict the set of
CPU architectures that can be supported.  Remove places in
the EDK II that assume a fixed set of CPU architectures.

Remove build breaks in the following tools and DEFINES when a check against
a fixed set of CPU architectures is made.

* Build
* GenFds
* TargetTool
* GenFw
* SIXTY_FOUR_BIT and THIRTY_TWO_BIT
* EFI_IMAGE_MACHINE_TYPE_SUPPORTED
* EFI_IMAGE_MACHINE_CROSS_TYPE_SUPPORTED
* EFI_REMOVABLE_MEDIA_FILE_NAME

Cc: Jiewen Yao <jiewen.yao@intel.com>
Cc: Jian J Wang <jian.j.wang@intel.com>
Cc: Xiaoyu Lu <xiaoyux.lu@intel.com>Cc
Cc: Guomin Jiang <guomin.jiang@intel.com>
Cc: Liming Gao <gaoliming@byosoft.com.cn>
Cc: Zhiguang Liu <zhiguang.liu@intel.com>
Cc: Bob Feng <bob.c.feng@intel.com>
Cc: Yuwei Chen <yuwei.chen@intel.com>
Cc: Andrew Fish <afish@apple.com>
Cc: Abner Chang <abner.chang@hpe.com>
Signed-off-by: Michael D Kinney <michael.d.kinney@intel.com>

Michael D Kinney (4):
  MdePkg/Include: Allow CPU specific defines to be predefined
  CryptoPkg/Library/Include: Allow CPU specific defines to be predefined
  BaseTools/Source/C: Remove CPU architecture assumptions
  BaseTools/Source/Python: Remove CPU architecture assumptions

 BaseTools/Source/C/GenFw/Elf32Convert.c          |  5 ++---
 BaseTools/Source/C/GenFw/Elf64Convert.c          |  5 ++---
 BaseTools/Source/Python/GenFds/FdfParser.py      |  4 +---
 BaseTools/Source/Python/TargetTool/TargetTool.py |  4 ++--
 BaseTools/Source/Python/build/buildoptions.py    |  4 ++--
 CryptoPkg/Library/Include/CrtLibSupport.h        |  4 +++-
 MdePkg/Include/Uefi/UefiBaseType.h               | 15 ++++++++++++++-
 MdePkg/Include/Uefi/UefiSpec.h                   |  4 +++-
 8 files changed, 29 insertions(+), 16 deletions(-)

-- 
2.31.1.windows.1



-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Groups.io Links: You receive all messages sent to this group.
View/Reply Online (#74081): https://edk2.groups.io/g/devel/message/74081
Mute This Topic: https://groups.io/mt/82083396/1787277
Group Owner: devel+owner@edk2.groups.io
Unsubscribe: https://edk2.groups.io/g/devel/unsub [importer@patchew.org]
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-