[PATCH v5 06/15] block: avoid duplicating filename string in bdrv_create

Emanuele Giuseppe Esposito posted 15 patches 2 months, 2 weeks ago
Maintainers: Kevin Wolf <kwolf@redhat.com>, Hanna Reitz <hreitz@redhat.com>, John Snow <jsnow@redhat.com>, Vladimir Sementsov-Ogievskiy <vsementsov@yandex-team.ru>, Eric Blake <eblake@redhat.com>, Stefan Hajnoczi <stefanha@redhat.com>, Fam Zheng <fam@euphon.net>, "Denis V. Lunev" <den@openvz.org>, Stefan Weil <sw@weilnetz.de>, Jeff Cody <codyprime@gmail.com>, Cleber Rosa <crosa@redhat.com>
There is a newer version of this series
[PATCH v5 06/15] block: avoid duplicating filename string in bdrv_create
Posted by Emanuele Giuseppe Esposito 2 months, 2 weeks ago
We know that the string will stay around until the function
returns, and the parameter of drv->bdrv_co_create_opts is const char*,
so it must not be modified either.

Suggested-by: Kevin Wolf <kwolf@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Emanuele Giuseppe Esposito <eesposit@redhat.com>
---
 block.c | 7 ++-----
 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 5 deletions(-)

diff --git a/block.c b/block.c
index 8c9f4ee37c..9d51e7b6e5 100644
--- a/block.c
+++ b/block.c
@@ -553,7 +553,7 @@ int bdrv_create(BlockDriver *drv, const char* filename,
     Coroutine *co;
     CreateCo cco = {
         .drv = drv,
-        .filename = g_strdup(filename),
+        .filename = filename,
         .opts = opts,
         .ret = NOT_DONE,
         .err = NULL,
@@ -561,8 +561,7 @@ int bdrv_create(BlockDriver *drv, const char* filename,
 
     if (!drv->bdrv_co_create_opts) {
         error_setg(errp, "Driver '%s' does not support image creation", drv->format_name);
-        ret = -ENOTSUP;
-        goto out;
+        return -ENOTSUP;
     }
 
     if (qemu_in_coroutine()) {
@@ -585,8 +584,6 @@ int bdrv_create(BlockDriver *drv, const char* filename,
         }
     }
 
-out:
-    g_free(cco.filename);
     return ret;
 }
 
-- 
2.31.1
Re: [PATCH v5 06/15] block: avoid duplicating filename string in bdrv_create
Posted by Kevin Wolf 2 months, 2 weeks ago
Am 23.11.2022 um 12:42 hat Emanuele Giuseppe Esposito geschrieben:
> We know that the string will stay around until the function
> returns, and the parameter of drv->bdrv_co_create_opts is const char*,
> so it must not be modified either.
> 
> Suggested-by: Kevin Wolf <kwolf@redhat.com>
> Signed-off-by: Emanuele Giuseppe Esposito <eesposit@redhat.com>

Reviewed-by: Kevin Wolf <kwolf@redhat.com>