[PULL 04/10] python/aqmp: add send_fd_scm

John Snow posted 10 patches 1 month, 2 weeks ago
Maintainers: John Snow <jsnow@redhat.com>, Cleber Rosa <crosa@redhat.com>, Eduardo Habkost <ehabkost@redhat.com>, Hanna Reitz <hreitz@redhat.com>, Kevin Wolf <kwolf@redhat.com>

[PULL 04/10] python/aqmp: add send_fd_scm

Posted by John Snow 1 month, 2 weeks ago
Add an implementation for send_fd_scm to the async QMP implementation.
Like socket_scm_helper mentions, a non-empty payload is required for
QEMU to process the ancillary data. A space is most useful because it
does not disturb the parsing of subsequent JSON objects.

A note on "voiding the warranty":

Python 3.11 removes support for calling sendmsg directly from a
transport's socket. There is no other interface for doing this, our use
case is, I suspect, "quite unique".

As far as I can tell, this is safe to do -- send_fd_scm is a synchronous
function and we can be guaranteed that the async coroutines will *not* be
running when it is invoked. In testing, it works correctly.

I investigated quite thoroughly the possibility of creating my own
asyncio Transport (The class that ultimately manages the raw socket
object) so that I could manage the socket myself, but this is so wildly
invasive and unportable I scrapped the idea. It would involve a lot of
copy-pasting of various python utilities and classes just to re-create
the same infrastructure, and for extremely little benefit. Nah.

Just boldly void the warranty instead, while I try to follow up on
https://bugs.python.org/issue43232

Signed-off-by: John Snow <jsnow@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Eric Blake <eblake@redhat.com>
Message-id: 20210923004938.3999963-5-jsnow@redhat.com
Signed-off-by: John Snow <jsnow@redhat.com>
---
 python/qemu/aqmp/qmp_client.py | 22 ++++++++++++++++++++++
 1 file changed, 22 insertions(+)

diff --git a/python/qemu/aqmp/qmp_client.py b/python/qemu/aqmp/qmp_client.py
index d2ad7459f9f..f987da02eb0 100644
--- a/python/qemu/aqmp/qmp_client.py
+++ b/python/qemu/aqmp/qmp_client.py
@@ -9,6 +9,8 @@
 
 import asyncio
 import logging
+import socket
+import struct
 from typing import (
     Dict,
     List,
@@ -624,3 +626,23 @@ async def execute(self, cmd: str,
         """
         msg = self.make_execute_msg(cmd, arguments, oob=oob)
         return await self.execute_msg(msg)
+
+    @upper_half
+    @require(Runstate.RUNNING)
+    def send_fd_scm(self, fd: int) -> None:
+        """
+        Send a file descriptor to the remote via SCM_RIGHTS.
+        """
+        assert self._writer is not None
+        sock = self._writer.transport.get_extra_info('socket')
+
+        if sock.family != socket.AF_UNIX:
+            raise AQMPError("Sending file descriptors requires a UNIX socket.")
+
+        # Void the warranty sticker.
+        # Access to sendmsg in asyncio is scheduled for removal in Python 3.11.
+        sock = sock._sock  # pylint: disable=protected-access
+        sock.sendmsg(
+            [b' '],
+            [(socket.SOL_SOCKET, socket.SCM_RIGHTS, struct.pack('@i', fd))]
+        )
-- 
2.31.1