[PULL 15/18] aspeed: Deprecate the swift-bmc machine

Cédric Le Goater posted 18 patches 1 month, 2 weeks ago
Maintainers: "Cédric Le Goater" <clg@kaod.org>, Wainer dos Santos Moschetta <wainersm@redhat.com>, Kevin Wolf <kwolf@redhat.com>, Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>, "Philippe Mathieu-Daudé" <philmd@redhat.com>, Andrew Jeffery <andrew@aj.id.au>, Peter Maydell <peter.maydell@linaro.org>, Cleber Rosa <crosa@redhat.com>, Alistair Francis <alistair@alistair23.me>, Max Reitz <mreitz@redhat.com>, Laurent Vivier <lvivier@redhat.com>, Joel Stanley <joel@jms.id.au>, Thomas Huth <thuth@redhat.com>

[PULL 15/18] aspeed: Deprecate the swift-bmc machine

Posted by Cédric Le Goater 1 month, 2 weeks ago
The SWIFT machine never came out of the lab and we already have enough
AST2500 based OpenPower machines.

Cc: Adriana Kobylak <anoo@us.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: Cédric Le Goater <clg@kaod.org>
---
 docs/system/deprecated.rst | 7 +++++++
 hw/arm/aspeed.c            | 3 +++
 2 files changed, 10 insertions(+)

diff --git a/docs/system/deprecated.rst b/docs/system/deprecated.rst
index 80cae862528a..f9169077aef8 100644
--- a/docs/system/deprecated.rst
+++ b/docs/system/deprecated.rst
@@ -245,6 +245,13 @@ The Raspberry Pi machines come in various models (A, A+, B, B+). To be able
 to distinguish which model QEMU is implementing, the ``raspi2`` and ``raspi3``
 machines have been renamed ``raspi2b`` and ``raspi3b``.
 
+Aspeed ``swift-bmc`` machine (since 6.1)
+''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''
+
+This machine is deprecated because we have enough AST2500 based OpenPOWER
+machines. It can be easily replaced by the ``witherspoon-bmc`` or the
+``romulus-bmc`` machines.
+
 Device options
 --------------
 
diff --git a/hw/arm/aspeed.c b/hw/arm/aspeed.c
index 1cf5a15c8098..cefa0f13527e 100644
--- a/hw/arm/aspeed.c
+++ b/hw/arm/aspeed.c
@@ -811,6 +811,9 @@ static void aspeed_machine_swift_class_init(ObjectClass *oc, void *data)
     mc->default_ram_size       = 512 * MiB;
     mc->default_cpus = mc->min_cpus = mc->max_cpus =
         aspeed_soc_num_cpus(amc->soc_name);
+
+    mc->deprecation_reason = "redundant system. Please use a similar "
+        "OpenPOWER BMC, Witherspoon or Romulus.";
 };
 
 static void aspeed_machine_witherspoon_class_init(ObjectClass *oc, void *data)
-- 
2.26.3