[PATCH v2 1/8] hvf: Add hypervisor entitlement to output binaries

Alexander Graf posted 8 patches 4 months, 2 weeks ago
Maintainers: Cameron Esfahani <dirty@apple.com>, Roman Bolshakov <r.bolshakov@yadro.com>, Peter Maydell <peter.maydell@linaro.org>, Alexander Graf <agraf@csgraf.de>, Eduardo Habkost <ehabkost@redhat.com>, Richard Henderson <richard.henderson@linaro.org>, Marcel Apfelbaum <marcel.apfelbaum@gmail.com>, Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>

[PATCH v2 1/8] hvf: Add hypervisor entitlement to output binaries

Posted by Alexander Graf 4 months, 2 weeks ago
In macOS 11, QEMU only gets access to Hypervisor.framework if it has the
respective entitlement. Add an entitlement template and automatically self
sign and apply the entitlement in the build.

Signed-off-by: Alexander Graf <agraf@csgraf.de>

---

v1 -> v2:

  - Make safe to ctrl-C
---
 accel/hvf/entitlements.plist |  8 ++++++++
 meson.build                  | 30 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++----
 scripts/entitlement.sh       | 13 +++++++++++++
 3 files changed, 47 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)
 create mode 100644 accel/hvf/entitlements.plist
 create mode 100755 scripts/entitlement.sh

diff --git a/accel/hvf/entitlements.plist b/accel/hvf/entitlements.plist
new file mode 100644
index 0000000000..154f3308ef
--- /dev/null
+++ b/accel/hvf/entitlements.plist
@@ -0,0 +1,8 @@
+<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
+<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
+<plist version="1.0">
+<dict>
+    <key>com.apple.security.hypervisor</key>
+    <true/>
+</dict>
+</plist>
diff --git a/meson.build b/meson.build
index 5062407c70..2a7ff5560c 100644
--- a/meson.build
+++ b/meson.build
@@ -1844,9 +1844,14 @@ foreach target : target_dirs
     }]
   endif
   foreach exe: execs
-    emulators += {exe['name']:
-         executable(exe['name'], exe['sources'],
-               install: true,
+    exe_name = exe['name']
+    exe_sign = 'CONFIG_HVF' in config_target
+    if exe_sign
+      exe_name += '-unsigned'
+    endif
+
+    emulator = executable(exe_name, exe['sources'],
+               install: not exe_sign,
                c_args: c_args,
                dependencies: arch_deps + deps + exe['dependencies'],
                objects: lib.extract_all_objects(recursive: true),
@@ -1854,7 +1859,24 @@ foreach target : target_dirs
                link_depends: [block_syms, qemu_syms] + exe.get('link_depends', []),
                link_args: link_args,
                gui_app: exe['gui'])
-    }
+
+    if exe_sign
+      exe_full = meson.current_build_dir() / exe['name']
+      emulators += {exe['name'] : custom_target(exe['name'],
+                   install: true,
+                   install_dir: get_option('bindir'),
+                   depends: emulator,
+                   output: exe['name'],
+                   command: [
+                     meson.current_source_dir() / 'scripts/entitlement.sh',
+                     meson.current_build_dir() / exe['name'] + '-unsigned',
+                     meson.current_build_dir() / exe['name'],
+                     meson.current_source_dir() / 'accel/hvf/entitlements.plist'
+                   ])
+      }
+    else
+      emulators += {exe['name']: emulator}
+    endif
 
     if 'CONFIG_TRACE_SYSTEMTAP' in config_host
       foreach stp: [
diff --git a/scripts/entitlement.sh b/scripts/entitlement.sh
new file mode 100755
index 0000000000..c540fa6435
--- /dev/null
+++ b/scripts/entitlement.sh
@@ -0,0 +1,13 @@
+#!/bin/sh -e
+#
+# Helper script for the build process to apply entitlements
+
+SRC="$1"
+DST="$2"
+ENTITLEMENT="$3"
+
+trap 'rm "$DST.tmp"' exit
+cp -af "$SRC" "$DST.tmp"
+codesign --entitlements "$ENTITLEMENT" --force -s - "$DST.tmp"
+mv "$DST.tmp" "$DST"
+trap '' exit
-- 
2.24.3 (Apple Git-128)