[PATCH mptcp-next v2 02/13] mptcp: fix locking for in-kernel listener creation.

Paolo Abeni posted 13 patches 1 year, 4 months ago
Maintainers: Mat Martineau <mathew.j.martineau@linux.intel.com>, Matthieu Baerts <matthieu.baerts@tessares.net>, "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>, Eric Dumazet <edumazet@google.com>, Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>, Paolo Abeni <pabeni@redhat.com>, Paul Moore <paul@paul-moore.com>, James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>, "Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>, Stephen Smalley <stephen.smalley.work@gmail.com>, Eric Paris <eparis@parisplace.org>, Benjamin Hesmans <benjamin.hesmans@tessares.net>, Geliang Tang <geliangtang@gmail.com>
There is a newer version of this series
[PATCH mptcp-next v2 02/13] mptcp: fix locking for in-kernel listener creation.
Posted by Paolo Abeni 1 year, 4 months ago
For consistency, in mptcp_pm_nl_create_listen_socket(), we need to
call the __mptcp_nmpc_socket() under the msk socket lock.

Note that as a side effect, mptcp_subflow_create_socket() needs a
'nested' lockdep annotation, as it will acquire the subflow (kernel)
socket lock under the in-kernel listener msk socket lock.

The current lack of locking is almost harmless, because the relevant
socket is not exposed to the user space, but in future we will add
more complexity to the mentioned helper, let's play safe.

Fixes: 1729cf186d8a ("mptcp: create the listening socket for new port")
Signed-off-by: Paolo Abeni <pabeni@redhat.com>
---
 net/mptcp/pm_netlink.c | 10 ++++++----
 net/mptcp/subflow.c    |  2 +-
 2 files changed, 7 insertions(+), 5 deletions(-)

diff --git a/net/mptcp/pm_netlink.c b/net/mptcp/pm_netlink.c
index e82a112b8779..155916174841 100644
--- a/net/mptcp/pm_netlink.c
+++ b/net/mptcp/pm_netlink.c
@@ -999,8 +999,8 @@ static int mptcp_pm_nl_create_listen_socket(struct sock *sk,
 {
 	int addrlen = sizeof(struct sockaddr_in);
 	struct sockaddr_storage addr;
-	struct mptcp_sock *msk;
 	struct socket *ssock;
+	struct sock *newsk;
 	int backlog = 1024;
 	int err;
 
@@ -1009,11 +1009,13 @@ static int mptcp_pm_nl_create_listen_socket(struct sock *sk,
 	if (err)
 		return err;
 
-	msk = mptcp_sk(entry->lsk->sk);
-	if (!msk)
+	newsk = entry->lsk->sk;
+	if (!newsk)
 		return -EINVAL;
 
-	ssock = __mptcp_nmpc_socket(msk);
+	lock_sock(newsk);
+	ssock = __mptcp_nmpc_socket(mptcp_sk(newsk));
+	release_sock(newsk);
 	if (!ssock)
 		return -EINVAL;
 
diff --git a/net/mptcp/subflow.c b/net/mptcp/subflow.c
index ec54413fb31f..a3e5026bee5b 100644
--- a/net/mptcp/subflow.c
+++ b/net/mptcp/subflow.c
@@ -1679,7 +1679,7 @@ int mptcp_subflow_create_socket(struct sock *sk, unsigned short family,
 	if (err)
 		return err;
 
-	lock_sock(sf->sk);
+	lock_sock_nested(sf->sk, SINGLE_DEPTH_NESTING);
 
 	/* the newly created socket has to be in the same cgroup as its parent */
 	mptcp_attach_cgroup(sk, sf->sk);
-- 
2.39.0