[edk2-devel] [PATCH edk2-CCSS 1/3] comments: remove "Horror Vacui" rule

Laszlo Ersek posted 3 patches 29 weeks ago

[edk2-devel] [PATCH edk2-CCSS 1/3] comments: remove "Horror Vacui" rule

Posted by Laszlo Ersek 29 weeks ago
The rule about avoiding comments in C code where the opening comment
characters are alone on a line conflicts with everyday edk2 practice --
we use comments like

  //
  // If the total number of lines in the popup is zero, then ASSERT()
  //

all the time. This comment style is actively enforced by reviewers and
maintainers. Remove the rule in order for the CCS to match reality.

Cc: Andrew Fish <afish@apple.com>
Cc: Leif Lindholm <leif.lindholm@linaro.org>
Cc: Michael D Kinney <michael.d.kinney@intel.com>
Cc: Rebecca Cran <rebecca@bsdio.com>
Ref: https://bugzilla.tianocore.org/show_bug.cgi?id=607
Signed-off-by: Laszlo Ersek <lersek@redhat.com>
---
 6_documenting_software/62_comments.md | 18 +-----------------
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 17 deletions(-)

diff --git a/6_documenting_software/62_comments.md b/6_documenting_software/62_comments.md
index 208ce346f607..ae04e008a1eb 100644
--- a/6_documenting_software/62_comments.md
+++ b/6_documenting_software/62_comments.md
@@ -66,23 +66,7 @@ not behave the same.
 Banners can be useful to highlight logical divisions within a file; such as
 before vital sections. This type of usage should be minimized.
 
-### 6.2.3 Avoid comments where the opening comment characters are alone on a line.
-
-```
-/*
- * VIOLATION: Horror Vacui
-*/
-```
-
-or
-
-```c
-//
-// VIOLATION: Horror Vacui
-//
-```
-
-### 6.2.4 Do not include jokes or obtuse references in comments.
+### 6.2.3 Do not include jokes or obtuse references in comments.
 
 ```
 "Out of cheese error! Redo from start."
-- 
2.19.1.3.g30247aa5d201



-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Groups.io Links: You receive all messages sent to this group.

View/Reply Online (#46933): https://edk2.groups.io/g/devel/message/46933
Mute This Topic: https://groups.io/mt/33157542/1787277
Group Owner: devel+owner@edk2.groups.io
Unsubscribe: https://edk2.groups.io/g/devel/unsub  [importer@patchew.org]
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-